Countries in South America

South America covers an area of about 17,840,000 square kilometers (6,890,000 square miles) which is about 11.7% of Earth’s land area. As of 2018, its population had been estimated more than 423 million. There are 14 nations in South America. The western and eastern coasts of South America are densely populated. In South America, Brazil is the largest nation, and it also is the most populous country.

Flag CountryPopulationArea(km2)
Flag of ArgentinaArgentina44,938,7122,780,400
Flag of BoliviaBolivia11,428,2451,098,581
Flag of BrazilBrazil210,147,1258,515,767
Flag of ChileChile17,574,003756,096.3
Flag of ColombiaColombia50,372,4241,141,748
Flag of EcuadorEcuador17,084,358283,561
Flag of ParaguayParaguay7,292,672406,757
Flag of PeruPeru32,824,3581,285,216
Flag of Trinidad and TobagoTrinidad and Tobago1,363,9855,131
Flag of UruguayUruguay3,427,000176,215
Flag of VenezuelaVenezuela28,887,118916,445