World Countries > Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional intergovernmental organization established in Bangkok, Thailand, on August 8, 1967. ASEAN comprises ten member states: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

One of ASEAN's significant achievements is its success in fostering economic integration and growth in the region. Through the AFTA and the AEC, ASEAN has facilitated the removal of trade barriers, increased market access, and promoted investment flows among its member states. ASEAN has also established various initiatives to promote sustainable development, such as the ASEAN Energy Efficiency and Conservation Sub-Sector Network and the ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity.

Besides, ASEAN has been crucial in promoting regional peace and stability. The organization has established conflict prevention, management, and resolution mechanisms, such as the ARF, the ASEAN Defense Ministers' Meeting, and the ASEAN Regional Mine Action Center. ASEAN has also taken a leading role in regional security issues, including counterterrorism, maritime security, and cybersecurity.

List of ASEAN member countries

Note: * indicates a founding member

Flag CountryPopulationJoined
Flag of BruneiBrunei459,5007 January 1984
Flag of CambodiaCambodia15,288,48930 April 1999
Flag of IndonesiaIndonesia267,670,5438 August 1967*
Flag of LaosLaos7,123,20523 July 1997
Flag of MalaysiaMalaysia32,730,0008 August 1967*
Flag of MyanmarMyanmar53,582,85523 July 1997
Flag of PhilippinesPhilippines109,048,2698 August 1967*
Flag of SingaporeSingapore5,703,6008 August 1967*
Flag of ThailandThailand66,558,9358 August 1967*
Flag of VietnamVietnam96,208,98428 July 1995