World Countries > BRICS - Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa

BRICS - Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa

BRICS is an acronym for an association of five major emerging national economies: Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa. BRICS is an intergovernmental organization formed in 2006 to promote cooperation and consultation between its members in economics, finance, trade, culture, and security. The BRICS have a combined area of 39,746,220 km2 and an estimated total population of about 3.21 billion, or about 26.7% of the world's land surface and 41.5% of the global population. Brazil, Russia, India, and China are among the world's ten largest countries by population, area, and GDP; the latter three are widely considered current or emerging superpowers. All five states are members of the G20, which is about 23% of the global GDP.

List of BRICS member countries

Flag CountryPopulationArea(km2)
Flag of BrazilBrazil210,147,1258,515,767
Flag of RussiaRussia146,748,59017,098,246
Flag of IndiaIndia1,352,642,2803,287,263
Flag of ChinaChina1,400,050,0009,596,961
Flag of South AfricaSouth Africa59,622,3501,221,037